Is Coconut Water Dairy Free? Milking Out the Truth

October 2, 2023

Yes, coconut water is dairy free. As such, it is suitable for anyone who is lactose intolerant or on a vegan diet.

There are a lot of misconceptions about coconut water. This is why my clients will often come up to me with questions like, is coconut water dairy free. If this is something that you have been wondering as well, then let me explain.

In the following post, you will discover what coconut water is and why it is considered dairy free. Let’s get started!

How is Coconut Water Dairy Free

Well, the answer to this is pretty simple. Understand, the term “dairy”, refers to cow’s milk as well as products that are derived from this milk. This includes butter, yogurt, cream, etc.

As coconut is a drupe, there is absolutely no relation at all. This means that all coconut derived products – including coconut water are free of dairy. 

Coconut with straw on beach

What is Coconut Water Made Of?

In case, you are wondering what coconut water is or what it is made of, well, this is a bit more complicated. To simplify it, coconut water is a substance that is formed within the center of the coconut. It is enclosed by a layer of coconut meat which, in turn, is enclosed within the coconut shell.

Green coconuts have the most amount of coconut water. As the coconut begins to mature, this water is absorbed into the meat. Thus, there is more meat and less coconut water in mature coconuts. 

Why is There Confusion?

Well, then, why is there confusion about coconut water being a dairy product? This might stem from the fact that many people get confused between coconut water and coconut milk. In fact, some may use the terms interchangeably.

However, they are quite different from each other. While coconut water is formed inside the coconut, coconut milk is made from coconut meat. The coconut meat is shredded and then soaked in water. The resulting liquid when the coconut meat is squeezed out is coconut milk.

It is fairly easy to understand why people assume that coconut milk contains dairy. The milk looks a great deal like cow’s milk. However, as with coconut water, coconut milk doesn’t contain any dairy at all.

A woman on the beach holds a coconut

Who Should Not Drink Coconut Water

As mentioned, you can drink coconut water if you are lactose intolerant. This, of course, is because there isn’t any dairy to cause any side effects.

This doesn’t automatically mean that coconut water is suitable for everyone, though. You should know that coconut water is pretty high in potassium.

Therefore, if you already eat a high-potassium diet or have high potassium levels in your system, coconut water may cause issues. In such an instance, it may act as a laxative. In high doses, it may be considered toxic.

For the most part, though, coconut water is pretty safe for most people to drink. Just remember to enjoy it in moderate doses. This will reduce the risk of any side effects.

As you can see, coconut water is completely dairy free. Therefore, if you are vegan or lactose intolerant, there is nothing to worry about! You can enjoy coconut water.

Did you enjoy this post? Then make sure to check out our Pinterest page. We have tons of other coconut water related content for you there!

An Important Disclaimer
The information on this page should not be used as a substitute for professional medical advice. Consult a doctor if you wish to consume any kind of tea regularly for the purpose of treating any condition or illness.
Affiliate links / Images from Amazon Product Advertising API. For the Love of Coconut is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for website owners to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon (.com,, .ca etc) and any other website that may be affiliated with Amazon Service LLC Associates Program. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Copyright © 2024 · For The Love of Coconut · All Rights Reserved